Drunk Driving Charges in Virginia Beach, Newport News, Hampton, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Portsmouth & Norfolk
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) is a crime in the Commonwealth of Virginia, the penalties for which are severe. Beyond the criminal penalties, you will be classified as a high-risk driver, paying substantially more in auto insurance.
As a police officer for more than 15 years, attorney Jerrell Johnson has extensive experience with the procedures of DUI cases.
As a DUI lawyer, he is also experienced in the various ways to challenge a DUI case, even if you failed the breath, blood or field sobriety tests, which are notoriously subject to errors.
First Time DUI Penalties:
If you have been charged with A DUI in Virginia Beach for the first time you could face the following penalties:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to $2,500 in fines
- A mandatory alcohol education class
- A mandatory one-year driver’s license suspension
- Mandatory jail time for certain blood alcohol levels
- Ignition Interlock requirement in certain cases
Common DUI Charges:
- Multiple DUI
- Out of State DUI
- Underage DUI
- Felony DUI
- Field Sobriety Tests
How Are Multiple DUI's Handled?
If you have been arrested for your second, third, or fourth drunk driving charge, the prosecution will view you as a danger to society and yourself and will most likely push for enhanced penalties for this offense. Read more…
Are Out of State DUI's Difficult to Fight?
Drunk driving charges that are acquired out-of-state by a Virginia resident can be extremely serious, especially if the other state requires a driver to be penalized in both the state in which the DUI was acquired and the state of residency of the alleged drunk driver. Read more…
What Are Consequences of Underage DUI Charges?
Those under the age of 21 face serious consequences when caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Even for a first-time offender, the Commonwealth of Virginia’s strict policies regarding underage drinking and driving can result in especially severe penalties. Read more…
What is a Felony DUI?
Felony drunk driving charges are those that are acquired by the action of having multiple drunk driving arrests and convictions or possibly causing vehicular manslaughter. Depending on the specific circumstances of your case, you may face lifelong penalties for these charges. Read more..
Field Sobriety Tests Explained
What is a field sobriety test? As a mechanism for a police officer to test a driver’s sobriety, these tests may include the walk and turn test, one leg stand test, or the horizontal gaze nystagmus test. While these should be given in supplement to breath or blood tests, they can be used as evidence in a DUI case.
Work With Our Virginia Beach DUI Attorney
If you have been accused of a drunk driving charge or would like more information on the topic, reach out to our Virginia Beach DUI defense lawyer today for help. As a former police office with decades living in the local area, including careers on both sides of the law, he is more than equipped to take on your case.
Contact us anywhere in Virginia Beach or the surrounding area for help from a Virginia Beach DUI attorney.
Traffic Violations Hampton District: Misdemeanor Reckless Driving
Felony Virginia Beach Juvenile: Domestic Assault
Felony Virginia Beach Juvenile: Domestic Assault & CPS case for Child Abuse
Felony Newport News District: Threaten to Harm and Curse and Abuse
Traffic Violations Northampton County: Misdemeanor Reckless Driving
Traffic Violations Sussex County: Reckless Driving
Norfolk District: Disorderly Conduct Dismissed
Misdemeanor Virginia Beach District: ASAP Show Cause
Misdemeanor Virginia Beach District: Class 1 Misdemeanor Animal Cruelty
Felony Virginia Beach District: Drunk in Public