Virginia Beach Domestic Assault Lawyer
Need to Challenge a Domestic Assault Charge?
Being arrested for domestic violence can be an intensely stressful and embarrassing experience, and you need understanding and respectful support at this difficult time. In addition to criminal penalties, a conviction would mean that you would have to live with a criminal record into the future, but if you act now, you may be able to have the charges dropped. At JRLaw, PLC in Hampton Roads, we know how important it is to you to have this case resolved swiftly and discreetly, and we will work diligently to clear your name and preserve your freedom.
Why Choose Our Domestic Assault Attorney?
- Service as Local Police Officer for 15+ Years
- Over a Decade of Experience
- Avvo Clients' Choice Award Winner for Criminal Defense Attorney
- Hundreds of Clients Successfully Defended Each Year
- Chosen for The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 VA Lawyers
Call (757) 447-0080 or message us online to discuss your options with our Virginia Beach domestic assault lawyer in a FREE consultation! We also serve Newport News, Hampton, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Portsmouth, and Norfolk.
Enlist Powerful Support in Virginia – Call (757) 447-0080!
Cases of domestic assault are commonly far more emotionally charged than normal assault. When family members fight, the pressure can rise to extreme levels, and police officers in Virginia Beach are quick to respond to a call in order to prevent the situation from getting worse. They will routinely make arrest before conducting a full investigation, and the alleged perpetrator will be subject to an emergency protective order for at least 3 days following the incident.
If you are charged with this crime, you can be punished with a Class 1 misdemeanor, which means that you may be sent to jail for up to a year and fined as much as $2,500.
Domestic assault prosecution often proceeds even when the alleged victim is not pressing charges, and in this case the situation can have a major disruptive effect on your family. In any case, it is vital for your future and the future of your family to work with a seasoned attorney from our team who can help you fight the charges. If you have no previous arrests for domestic assault, you may be eligible for a deferred sentence under the first offender program, which could allow you to have the case dropped after you serve a term of probation.
Traffic Violations Hampton District: Misdemeanor Reckless Driving
Felony Virginia Beach Juvenile: Domestic Assault
Felony Virginia Beach Juvenile: Domestic Assault & CPS case for Child Abuse
Felony Newport News District: Threaten to Harm and Curse and Abuse
Traffic Violations Northampton County: Misdemeanor Reckless Driving
Traffic Violations Sussex County: Reckless Driving
Norfolk District: Disorderly Conduct Dismissed
Misdemeanor Virginia Beach District: ASAP Show Cause
Misdemeanor Virginia Beach District: Class 1 Misdemeanor Animal Cruelty
Felony Virginia Beach District: Drunk in Public